Meeting Allah (poem)

Poem to ponder.
I won’t tell how beautiful it is, it speaks for itself. Just listen, and listen again!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wYPPukUPf0Q

For those who can’t access it on YouTube, can listen to it on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=4994152244956

 وما قدر الله حق قدره من يستحي من الناس، ولا يستحيي من الله، فيسكن في أرضه، ويأكل من رزقه، ويبارزه بالمعاصي ليلاً ونهاراً

[Roughly translated:] And he did not value Allah like it was His right to be valued, the one who got shy of people and did not feel shy of Allah; so he remained on this earth, and ate from its rizq, and sinned day and night.

Lyrics of poem (with English translation):

إذا ما قال لي ربي .. أما استحييت تعصيني وتخفي الذنب عن خلقي .. وبالعصيان تأتيني

If my Lord asks me “Have you no shyness in disobeying me? You conceal your sins from my creation – and with sins you come to me.”

فكيف أجيب يا ويحي .. ومن ذا سوف يحميني

So how will I answer? O woe to me – and who shall protect me?

أسلي النفس بالآمال .. من حين إلى حين

I keep averting my soul with thoughts of hope – from time to time.

وأنسى ما وراء الموت .. ماذا بعد تكفيني

And I forget what is to come after death – and what is to come after I am shrouded.

كاني قد ضمنت العيش .. ليس الموت يأتيني

As if I am guaranteed life (eternally) – and that death will not come to me.

وجاءت سكرة الموت الشديدة من سيحميني

And when the severe stupor of death overtakes me – who will protect me?

نظرت إلى الوجوه أليس منهم من سيفديني

I looked at the faces; is there not from amongst them who will ransom me?

سأسأل ما الذي قدمت في دنياي ينجيني

I will be asked regarding what I have prepared in my life to save me (on the Day of Judgement).

فكيف إجابتي من بعد ما فرطت في ديني

Then how will I answer – after I have neglected my religion.

ويا ويحي ألم أسمع كلام الله يدعوني

Woe to me! Did I not hear the Speech of Allāh inviting me?

ألم أسمع لما قد جاء في ق و يس

Did I not hear what came in (the chapters of) Qāf and Yā-Sīn?

ألم أسمع بيوم الحشر يوم الجمع والدين

Did I not hear about the Day of Gathering, the Day of Assemble and the Day of Judgement?

ألم أسمع منادي الموت يدعوني يناديني

Did I not hear the crier of death inviting me, calling me?

فيا رباه عبد تائب من ذا سيؤويني

So O my Lord, a slave (turning to you) I have repented – so who then shall shelter me?

سوى رب غفور واسع للحق يهديني

Except a Lord extensive in forgiveness – to the truth He will guide me.

أتيت إليك فارحمني وثقل في موازيني

I have come to you (in repentance) – so have mercy on me, and make heavy my scales (with good deeds).

وخفف في جزائي أنت أرجى من يجازيني

And lighten my account – You are the best of who will bring me to account.

7 comments on “Meeting Allah (poem)

  1. <3 Jazakillah khayr.
    Is it true Imam Malik wrote this on his deathbed? I was thinking he was that scared, imam MALIK, and look at us. Our lives are piles of uselessness and we're so relaxed :\

  2. Assalamualaikum and may Allah reward you most generously for your hard work in sharing this amazing poem for all of us. I am so very overwhelmed by the mercy of Allah through this experience… actually some time back a friend of mine sent to me the audio of this poem and even though I do not know arabic except the translation of the Quran to some extent… I was moved to tears simply by the tone of the recitor and the few words here and there which I could decipher… I heard it again and again and for a few days could not go to sleep without listening to it. Well this morning I thought that inshaAllah I am going to set aside some time in which I will listen to it and jot down whatever words I understand so that I can make out the complete meaning… and what an abslutely awsome gift from Allah that I got to see all the words AND their meaning without any effort at all… except for a true desire and niyyah to act on it:):) I hope I will never forget the lesson which I learnt that one should keep on working hard because you never know where in this world of Allah someone might be longing for that very same thing which you produce with love and sincerity for the sake of Allah.
    JazakAllah khairan once again
    wassalam,

  3. Dear Hajrah,
    Sometimes we get speechless at serious issues and chatter our heart when it’s not required at all….I’m speechless.May Allah purify my heart from all the dirt.
    Takabbal allah minha wa minkum

Say your heart out!

